Day 36 – Riomaggiore, Italy

We said goodbye to Mattia’s friends and left for Riomaggiore to check me into my hostel. Once I was settled in we went down to the beach. Ok the beach at Riomaggiore is very different to Australia. There is no sand, just rocks. Big and small pebbles. Lots of people make towers by stacking the pebbles all on top of each other. When we were there some little kid came and started to knock them all over so I protected my stack. We laid in the sun for a bit before going into the water for a swim. The water was really nice, a tiny bit cold as it wasn’t quite summer yet. Getting out of the water wasn’t my best accomplishment to date, I stumbled on the big rocks underwater on my way out and cut my feet and legs (nothing bad though).

After the beach I had some time to myself so planned to find somewhere nice to watch the sunset and write in my journal… That was my goal at least. I started walking up a windy steep road but decided it wasn’t safe with the cars zooming past. So I walked back down with no idea where to start a walk. Eventually I found one path out the back so started up it, it was very beautiful up in the hills, vineyards and farmland. But I had no idea where I was going and just kept going further inland when I wanted to see the sunset over the water. And then it started to rain. I hid under a tree to wait for the rain to stop and decided I should just go back down to the town. I later found out I had begun the two hour up hill trek inland.

I hung out with Mattia a bit longer and went down to the rocks to see the sunset and relax. Later at the bar two annoying Italian guys starting talking to me, one of them spoke English and the other Italian, and the one who knew English said “my friend thinks your beautiful but can’t speak English” and then later “ill leave you two to chat”. Haha oh yeah cause that sounds possible. I spotted somebody I knew and quickly ran off. I ended up hanging out with friends of Mattia and tried Limoncello for the first time.

Once I left to go back to the hostel as I was passing by the bar one of the people from my hostel (A man from Croatia who spends every summer there painting) introduced me to two Australian girls and a French guy. I sat down and spoke with them for a bit, but they were all talking passionately about acting and writing and directing and my interest in those topics made it very hard for me to keep up a conversation with them, so off to my hostel I went and finally to bed.

IMG_7153.JPG

IMG_7151.JPG

IMG_7145.JPG

IMG_7147.JPG

 

IMG_5781-0.JPG

IMG_5780-0.JPG

IMG_7163.JPG

IMG_7160.JPG

IMG_7159.JPG

IMG_7162.JPG

IMG_7173.JPG

IMG_7183.JPG

Leave a Reply

