Black sand, hungry horses, lonely mountains, and braying donkies

We wanted to see more of Santorini than the usual tourists (honeymooners) do. For this reason we visited the backpackers area of Santorini first. Perissa Beach is known for its black sandy beaches, and for being an area with super cheap accommodation 😉 For 10 euros we were able to stay in a private room, with ensuite and a kitchenette. The hotel also had a swimming pool where we could look up to the mountains of Ancient Thira. Alright. Im going to break down our stay in Perissa based on our favourite and funniest moments.

The hungry horse – Walking between our hotel and the beach was my absolute favourite part of Perissa Beach. We´d pass slightly run down houses and paddocks with corn, people would zoom past on their motorbikes and on the way back you could see all that with the mountains in the background. The hungry horse is pretty self explanatory. I was patting a horse that lived in a paddock by the road, and it started to eat my leg. Jenna was actually taking photos at the time, and its facial expressions are the best. So evil.

Black sand beaches – Okay Jenna and I had already seen a black sand beach on Sardinia in Italy, but this beach was still particularly special. It wasnt like the other beaches we had swam in on Ios and Mykonos. Those beaches were perfectly clear and it was like swimming in a pool. The oceanbed here was a lot more rocky, and I kept thinking of what could be lurking underneath. But despite that, it was amazing laying in the black sand and looking out at the bronze mountains towering above the water. While relaxing on the warm sand I remember seeing some little girl rolling around the sand like a lunatic. She actually made me think of a really happy pig rolling around in mud.

Best bakery cafe ever – Thank god for this place. Omg. What can I say. I dont know. Just. Sitting by the pool looking up at the mountains with an amazing iced mocha, and the second best pastries Ive ever had in my life (the first will always be our special place in Newcastle Jenna). We limited ourselves to one baklava or yummy thing a day. Just to prevent or diet consisting solely of chocolate coffee honey and pastry.

Donkeys braying and evening strolls towards the mountain – Evenings (actually day times too) were often accompanied by Jenna and I taking a walk around the town and countryside toward the base of Ancient Thira. Not too far off was the harsh cry of a donkey, just to set the mood. There was this black donkey up on the mountain that I felt particularly connected with. I dont know why. I just liked it (and I know it liked me). On one of these strolls Jenna got attacked by a stray cat who wanted her spinach pastry thing. I cant remember but I probably saved her. Im always saving Jenna 😉

The tiny tiny row boat – This next memory was beautiful and unfortunately unphotographed. Below Ive shown you a section in my journal where I included a little sketch of the scene so I would keep it in my memory. Jenna and I were sitting right over on the rocks by the water underneath the cliff. The sun was setting, and we had an amazing time discussing many things. We watched as this “little” greek family played together. It was the grandad with his 7 grandchildren, all crowded onto this tiny little row boat, about 1 and a half metres in length. They were all shrieking and laughing and had the best time ever and one kid was standing up dancing and then the boat nearly tipped over and that kid fell out and then they all just started to jump out and scream. It was the happiest thing I´ve ever seen in my life.

Being broke, but still using our remaining money to buy a “freddo cappuccino” – While we were in Perissa Beach we completely ran out of cash. Okay thats not true. I had about 5 euros in coins. The point was, we were peaking out because in a couple of days we would have to pay for our accommodation, plus we needed more food. We couldnt get any money out of the ATM because it was empty. Thanks Greece.

The most greek person anyone will ever see – On our last day in Perissa we were sitting at the bus station waiting to be taken to our next stop. Jenna and I were sat in the little white concrete cubicle when we heard clattering hooves. We didnt really perk up that much. Horses and donkeys around here were normal. But we were left gobsmacked after the horse cantered past us, the rider was some tan greek man with a flowing white shirt. I dont know how that sounds to you. I cant really get across how dreamlike it was. He was the sort of person mums would faint over. I didnt really have an idea on a Greek stereotype until I saw him. He now epitomises Greece for me. Nothing will be more Greek and more fantastical than him. After we recovered from our shock (ok that still hasnt happened) we were picked up by the bus. On our way back through Perissa town we noticed a lot of the locals dressed up, riding decorated horses, and even a glimpse of some dancing. Luckily the wedding festival held up the traffic a bit so we got to observe them before being whisked away.

Leave a Reply

